Affiliate Marketing
Forum Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23-04-04
Luca Brasi's Avatar
Affiliate Gimp
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Luca Brasi is an unknown quantity at this point
  Ad.com position on Malicous software?

Anyone heard anything from this company on if they are using spyware affiliates?
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties.
Its not big and its not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25-04-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London
Posts: 393
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chrisk999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Just thinking about this, considering that Ad.com is mainly a banner network rather than an affiliate network, I expect the only way in which ad.com would possibly be involved with kazaa/gator etc. is via CPM/CPC banner advertising in the software products.

Last edited by chrisk999; 27-04-04 at 08:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26-04-04
Luca Brasi's Avatar
Affiliate Gimp
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Luca Brasi is an unknown quantity at this point
Ad.com definately does operate as an affiliate network and is involved with 180 solutions in a way which sets a cookie on a users PC having seen this in action on my site and with my advertisers.

When you actually see this software in operation it scares you to think how much business they could be stealing from you.
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties.
Its not big and its not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27-04-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
adselect is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi Guys,

AdSelect does not work with or condone spyware affiliates.

In the last few hours it has been brought to my attention that 180 Solutions has access to and is using our campaigns. As they have never been set-up as a publisher in the UK I am currently trying to track down how they have accessed our coding, we will hopefully be able to put a stop to this shortly.

If you have any questions, please ask...
Kirsten
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27-04-04
Luca Brasi's Avatar
Affiliate Gimp
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Luca Brasi is an unknown quantity at this point
That's great news thanks Kirsten
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties.
Its not big and its not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27-04-04
Supercod's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Scotland, UK.
Posts: 3,619
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Supercod is a jewel in the roughSupercod is a jewel in the roughSupercod is a jewel in the roughSupercod is a jewel in the rough
Great News well done.. only 2 networks left to make a choice now.. will they pick Spyware or Affiliates.. if they pick Spyware they should rename themselves Spyware Marketing as they would not be fit to carry the name Affiliate Marketing.
__________________
Clarke

Check out my Blog at www.affiliatemarketingblog.co.uk
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shirley is an unknown quantity at this point
  scum....

I was just viewing my exits links for yesterday and came across this one below. Absolutely nothing to do with me as it goes to Visit Britain website and I only advertise finance so I would not choose to advertise it.

http://servedby.advertising.com/clic...yXw4MjsloynRqC

Looks to me you are using my site to advertise something you wish to advertise and not me.

Can someone from ad.com please explain as I am not receiving any commission for this advert and do not want your banner/pop ups showing over my site.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London
Posts: 393
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chrisk999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Shirley,

How do you identify exit links? Do you use some 3rd party javascript or something?

There was a post at webmasterworld a while ago which might be able to help you, although I thought exit link statistics were notoriously unreliable anyway?

Cheers,

Chris
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shirley is an unknown quantity at this point
Very reliable. I use a company called www.indextools.com. I can see the whole link my end and it goes to overture at some point.

There hasn't been an occasion where I have exit links I don't know about or don't recognise before and I have using indextools for probably 2 years.

Is anyone else out there recognising exit links that they don't have on their website ?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
adselect is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi,

Visit Britain is a campaign we ran but it stopped in March and hasn't run since. So I don't understand how it could've appeared on your exit pages so recently. You may have unwittingly downloaded some software that is doing this.

I'm not sure who your subject line 'scum...' refers to but I hope it's not us. We have made it clear we will not knowingly work with spyware affiliates and Visit Britain is a legitimate client.

The best way to reslove this is for you to send the full URL so we can track excatly where it's coming from.

Regards,
Kirsten
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shirley is an unknown quantity at this point
It was short for scumware which was the discussion. I have just this second written to Dan about this matter.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shirley is an unknown quantity at this point
this is the whole link //servedby.advertising.com/click/site=686080/mnum=161438/sdat=uk/optn=64/?trg=http://www10.overture.com/d/sr/?xargs=02u3hs9yoakE1vTTCDhgzNf0RyQnYRAqqKEHS3qXYeI K8toEGCgQr%2Fbhl%2B1q2%2BWdZYoft9Z9Wa0m1rTnQzcHbft nYVi%2BijLBECCQpowIvG8OZ8L4tzzQtC7MbttuSMPIf9%2BD% 2B2NWF5AyXw4MjsloynRqC

you need to replace the http:// at the beginning. The link is still working.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14-06-04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
P