Wow!
It must be connected to Amazon ?! Surely
Hi,
Just wondered how sites like this
http://www.amkells.co.uk
get away with copying (quite a lot of) Amazon!
Personally, if I was responsible for Amazon UK site
design, I'd be p--d off!
They even have a copyright statement at the bottom
© 1998-2004 Amkells.co.uk, Inc. and its affiliates
Whereas Amazon UK's statement reads like this
Steve© 1996-2004, Amazon.com, Inc. and its affiliates
I have seen other Amazon copycat sites, but they weren't
necessarily selling the same types of stuff as Amazon,
and it wasn't such a close copy.
Comments?
Steve
PS Yeah I probably do have better stuff to do right now...
Wow!
It must be connected to Amazon ?! Surely
LOL When using elance, I have seen some projects asking for 'a site that works like amazon' etc.
I bet it was one of those.
Hmm there are subtle differences, it is not THE same but you would have a job convincing anyone that it was not inspired and derived from Amazon.
While copying directly is clearly in breach of UK copyright law I do not know enough to determine whether it is illegal to make derivatives from someone elses design, is it?
I mean there are many industries where essentially similar products compete, unless the technology or concept is trademarked where do you draw the line. In the last decade look how many search sites have spawned since Yahoo, ie the concept has been copied many times but it mostly evolves into something new.
Not defending this site, I think its a rip but where does the line get drawn in the sand here between copying and being inspired by?
Being inspired by is fine. It's a bit shady with regards to people who get blatantly ripped off and then the author just says "but I was just inspired by you", but if it was any other way most of the sites on the 'net would be guilty in one way or another.
In this case though, Amazons look isn't really that unique anyway - just very well done, although I haven't looked at the site in question.
I think Amkells should sue Amazon![]()
Something has obviously gone on because the site is now down and there is just a holding page telling us that they will be right back.
Maybe they are changing the date on the copywrite![]()
I think even the name am and then kell was a bit of a step too far.
Does anyone know if they were getting much traffic?
Last edited by Markup; 15-03-04 at 11:25 AM.
They have been getting LOADS more traffic since this thread began
http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr...=amkells.co.uk
Follow Me | Looking for Merchants Who Do Scifi Stuff
the site is back up now!
That alexa stat tool looks useful!
Strange also that on the left of the page relating to amkell there is an option to write a review of the featured site and it says WRITE A REVIEW ON AMAZON - maybe they are related.
Ah! Id got it mixd up and thought that Alexa was comparing the amkell site with amazon in the same way that many of us did.
Hi Wil
the stats are a good tool but are biased, as the data source is from people with toolbars which isn't a huge population of web users.
If you install the toolbar ( and I am not suggesting you do) whilst you are developing a new site you can jump up the alexa ratings as you will be viewing the site alot during testing - checking etc.
Follow Me | Looking for Merchants Who Do Scifi Stuff
Now theres a thought to keep in mind - thanks pal I am going to remember that one.
I've just seen a thread in uk.legal about someone not having recieved their goods from this company...
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks