Affiliate Marketing
Forum Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,450
Thanks: 17
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
  Very evil site

I've just come across a very nasty site.


This site appears to have a text grab of my main page content on their site.
I can tell this as they have left my bottom line in which is definately without a doubt mine.


The layout is such that it doesn't link to my site as all. It indicates the content belongs to another site.


This site belongs I believe to someone on this forum.

The only links available on that page go to an espotting listing of places to buy mobile phones.

So what should I do?

Ask them to remove my site?
(Knowing that if they steal one site they have more than likely stolen other sites)
Report them to espotting? (and does anyone have a contact and number for doing this?)
Or list the URL here?
Should I file a DMCA notice to their host and google?
Should I send them a bill for £1000 a day for using my content?


To say that I am angry is an understatement.


If you have a mobile phone related site they have probably done it to you and are, as far as I am concerned, this is stealing.

**** One fumingly angry Mogga ****
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Aelf's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aelf is an unknown quantity at this point
  Angry

Hi Mogga,

I can understand how you must feel. To steal someone's livelihood has got to be one of the worst crimes there is.

I don't know the technical side of things but there must be a way to trace the owner of the site.



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Divrie is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi,

I would say the best way to trace the owner would be to search to buy the url and see if the owners information is available.

That should help towards finding who it is.
__________________
Reserveahotelonline.com offering worldwide hotels at discount prices.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,450
Thanks: 17
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
Oh I have got that info.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 249
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HeresJonny is an unknown quantity at this point
Often you can get the name and address number of the domain owner from http://sunny.nic.com/cgi-bin/whois. Then use directory enquiries to get a phone number.

I had to do this a couple of months ago to someone who copied one of our sites. I telephoned him at 9 o'clock one morning out of the blue, and requested the copied content be removed within 48 hours or "further action" would follow ... and it certainly did the trick.

Jon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Aelf's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aelf is an unknown quantity at this point
Then perhaps you should name and shame. Whoever it is should be ostrasised totally. I don't know what else you can do.

I know if someone did it to me I would go mental, all that work stolen ... and let's face it, that's what it is, theft.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
smn2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: HUDDERSFIELD, UK
Posts: 748
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
smn2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi Mogga,

Sorry to hear about your situation. I do think you should
contact the site owner concerned, though, before you
go 'naming and shaming', at least to allow them to
undo the problem.

(And I don't recommend you do anything, whilst still fuming!)

Steve
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Legend!
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AF London Dungeon
Posts: 2,443
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
pistol101 seems to know their stuff
If they have any AF links then please let me know, as we've kicked off one affiliate for doing it this week.
__________________
Peter Dickenson Peter@affiliatefuture.co.uk

Barbados...We hired a theme park....join the affiliatefuture cult
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
999gi's Avatar
aka Antony
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 971
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
999gi is an unknown quantity at this point
Some day when google gets really clued up it will know who the first to publish some copy was and having someone else republish your copy with be seen as a signj of quality like having an inbound link

Until then though give them hell
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: swansea
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
grahamT is an unknown quantity at this point
http://www.webconfs.com/similar-page-checker.php

this can give you a good insight to how much is really yours.
but I see more people using programs like blackwidow and ripping sites and altering there content slightly.

You really ned to get on top of this as duplicate content will definatly affect your page rank in google

the link above only does pages and you have to know the url. there was a site once (damned if i can find it know) that would spider the internet looking for sites with similar pages etc.

does anyone of this tool, please let me know.

regards

Graham
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-05
Ste's Avatar
Ste Ste is offline
It's a hard life .....
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ste is an unknown quantity at this point
GrahamT
The site you are probably looking for is http://www.copyscape.com

Its never nice having your copy copied, happened to me a couple times. Always be polite at the start, you can turn nasty when being nice fails.

There should be a seperate forum for situations like this, where they can be outed, so we know who they are. If they have copied your site, then they have done it to others.
__________________
A World of Poker - Its the Nutz! www.aworldofpoker.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ProCash is an unknown quantity at this point
whats the website
__________________
Professional Cash Launched!!!

Professional Cash
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-05
Dynamoo's Avatar
Mooooo
 
Join Date: De