Results 1 to 11 of 11

 

Thread: Recognise this site design?

  1. #1
    Ste
    It's a hard life .....

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post


    I can't actually believe that someone would copy the design of such a high profile website.

    I wont post the URL as, judging by the site they are an affiliate and probably a member of this board.

    PM me for the URL if you want to judge it for yourself and see if you can guess which site it is!
    B-Link - UK Link Exchange Directory
    PRBox - Free UK Press Releases - Submit Yours Free

  2. #2
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is the site which has been copied a well known retailer of
    DVDs, music CDs, video games etc with free delivery on everything?

  3. #3
    Meow!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Errrmmm... Yes, I see what you mean!
    DarrenW

  4. #4
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hmmm. Not what I'd call subtle. I wonder how long it will stay looking like that ...

    Jon

  5. #5
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's amazing how quickly you realise were the site design has been copied from. Have a look around the site, there is no contact page/details! I did a Who-Is Lookup and the domain was registered in Feb'04 with the owner, an online cricket company based in Bolton.

    I suppose there is the possibility that a web designer who worked on the original, also sold the design elsewhere. I dunno...

    Do you think we should inform TD?

  6. #6
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Can someone please send me site link Thanks

  7. #7
    www.sctmedia.com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,455
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts
    I am gob smacked that some has been so stupied. This is a clear case of copyright infringment.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    776
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    Can someone PM me the URL (s)!
    Pete

  9. #9
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    661
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I haven't looked at the offending site, but this site may come in useful, if the victims decide they want to name and shame.

    http://www.pirated-sites.com/

  10. #10
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    hastings
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,

    I have looked at the site and yes it does seem to be a copy, but as the saying goes "immitation is the greatest form of flattery".

    Also the logo looks abit like a popular auction website (which was started in the UK) and the name and some other graphics incorporating the name look like another bigger auction site (started in the US).

    I often take inspiration from other websites design, but I wouldn't call it piracy as such.

    I think it should be left to the websites in question to battle it out and I look forward to hear of any outcome!


    Thadeas @ www.118-local.com

  11. #11
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I wouldn't get to stressed about it, its between them and the other company, it just shows that the company can't think for them selves and have to copy other peoples work.



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2