+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

 

Thread: Please steal my page title etc

  1. #1
    Mogga's Avatar
    Chocaholic

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Oldham
    Posts
    8,405
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked 225 Times in 173 Posts


    http://search.fisheyes.co.uk/Travel-...nd-travel.html


    They're repeatedly using my site title on this page?

    They ripping anyone else off?


    Other unusual pages on their site include (and I've not put whole urls in)
    "-For-Nails-TM-voucher-coupon-rebates-free-at-asmartshop-co-uk-be-smart-Vouche... "

    "Unifreebies-co-uk-brings-students-at-uni-loads-of-freebies-free-stuff-and-special-s"
    "athletic equipment co uk The UK directory for fitness equipment beauty beauty UK fitness " this url is
    http://search.fisheyes.co.uk/athleti...--space---html


    OK so they appear to be doing this via an espotting feed but surely its an utter abuse by them?


    PPS: I'm a bit annoyed.
    Last edited by Mogga; 20-03-05 at 06:18 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's shocking. They're just ripping off site titles and trying to get ranked higher by including it in the page several times.

    I'd be really annoyed too.

    Anyone know the registrant?

    http://195.66.240.211/cgi-bin/whois....fisheyes.co.uk
    Last edited by angelabx; 20-03-05 at 08:42 PM.

  3. #3
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    not there !
    Posts
    333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    rather than "fish the net / catch a site"

    should be called "grab the net / rip off the site"

    front page

    • Copyright Fisheyes Ltd • Privacy Policy • 16 St James Street Paisley Scotland PA3 2HT Tel 0044 141 589 3445 Fax 0044 141 589 3448
    <b>Pip ! </b><font size="1">(soon relocating to Bondi) <br>
    </font>If searching for things is what everyone does,
    are we all just lost souls ! - <a href="http://www.tellmeabout.co.uk">www.tellmeabout.co.uk</a>

  4. #4
    Shane's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sheffield - Worldwide Skiver
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 70 Times in 34 Posts
    hmm think we need to set up a black ops type unit

    hire some black hat seo talent to "persuade" any sites/groups/individuals that take the pi$$... to erm behave or we'll have all their page's 302'd by some dodgy pr10 site

    ok ok.. not the right way to go but some people do deserve a good *****slap !

  5. #5
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Wouldnt it be much simpler to report them to Google
    "Competitive Ads and Services
    We do not permit Google ads or search boxes accessing Google search services to be published on web pages that also contain what could be considered competing ads or services. This would include ads that mimic Google ads or otherwise appear to be associated with Google on your site. If you have elected to receive content-based Google ads, this would also include all other content-targeted ads. If you have elected to receive Google search services, this would include other search services on the same site and non-Google query-targeted ads. We do allow affiliate or limited-text links."
    Do espotting have similar rules?

    By the way, naming and shaming (however you feel it is justified), by using the url and whois information leaves not only yourself but the forum open to to legal problems.

  6. #6
    getvisible's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    My Neighbour is Elvis
    Posts
    4,559
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 51 Times in 34 Posts
    Do you have products for review on my chocolate reviews or Easter eggs blog?s PM me.

  7. #7
    Supercod's Avatar
    Super Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK.
    Posts
    3,658
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 26 Times in 12 Posts
    Have a look at this post

    http://www.a4uforum.co.uk/showthread...threadid=28327

    When your on the fisheye site, why not do a whois on the all the site link from "Places to Visit" on the right hand side http://search.fisheyes.co.uk/Travel-...nd-travel.html and see if any of the sites match anyone from the other post

    Espotting have rules about not being able to use Google Adsence as well as Espotting feeds, so they will be sure to terminate the account of the person in question if they want their contract to hold any value, unless they have a different contract but I doubt that.
    Clarke - On Twitter @ClarkeDuncan

    Check out my Blog at www.affiliatemarketingblog.co.uk

  8. #8
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,448
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As mentioned in the other thread it does look like www.fisheyes.co.uk is run by one company and search.fisheyes.co.uk by affiliata (it is hosted on the same IP as one of affiliata's subdomains.) So the website.htm page listed above probably isn't directly related.

    Just found this that shows the link to affiliata: - http://search.fisheyes.co.uk/about.php
    Last edited by Rich; 20-03-05 at 10:06 PM.

  9. #9
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As the only reason these sites do this is to make money from click thrus, then if you stop the source of that money by reporting them, then they have no incentive to copy sites.
    Report them and any others to google and espotting

  10. #10
    Mogga's Avatar
    Chocaholic

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Oldham
    Posts
    8,405
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked 225 Times in 173 Posts
    I don't understand why someone else runs the subdomain... am I missing something?

  11. #11
    getvisible's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    My Neighbour is Elvis
    Posts
    4,559
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 51 Times in 34 Posts
    I don't understand why someone else runs the subdomain... am I missing something?
    Plaussible deniability!

    Or in your and my language - giving them the opportunity to say "nowt to do with me gov!"

    Is the net closing in on the fisheyes saga?
    Do you have products for review on my chocolate reviews or Easter eggs blog?s PM me.

  12. #12
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,448
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As the about page mentions, affiliata offer a 'search directory technology' so I expect that the fisheyes owners get a cut of the income. Here is another one that is run as a directory instead of a subdomain and seems totally unrelated form the main sites content - http*//www.baxterprints.com/directory/about.php

    Searching for 'request further information on our search directory technology, AST.' on various search engines will find more examples.

  13. #13
    Mogga's Avatar
    Chocaholic

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Oldham
    Posts
    8,405
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked 225 Times in 173 Posts
    So who should I complain to? Either or both?

  14. #14
    Supercod's Avatar
    Super Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK.
    Posts
    3,658
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 26 Times in 12 Posts
    Everyone.. if you think you got a case have a lawyer submit letters to every party involved.. end of the day they all have a part to play, even go as far as the hosting company. The choice is yours in the end, but if they threaten your livelihood you might as well make life as difficult as you can for them in return.
    Clarke - On Twitter @ClarkeDuncan

    Check out my Blog at www.affiliatemarketingblog.co.uk

  15. #15
    Affiliate

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    2,200
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
    is a group action worthing doing or lots of individual actions.

    I guess answer would be to get your own legal advice etc on best way to deal with this.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2