Care to remove us too MArk
Carrentals.co.uk Discount Codes | Carrentals.co.uk Vouchers & Promotional Codes
As we are a comparator and don't have any code and never had.
Doug
They ring you up and ask if you want to be listed in their directory for a fee
Doug
Care to remove us too MArk
Carrentals.co.uk Discount Codes | Carrentals.co.uk Vouchers & Promotional Codes
As we are a comparator and don't have any code and never had.
Doug
and us Camping Equipment Note: Our trademark is a legally Registered Trademark. We don't do voucher codes - we offer all our customers the best possible prices.
No he can't - not in the UK - all Registered Trademarks are protected
"allows you to take legal action against anyone who uses your trade mark without your permission"
Intellectual Property Office - Registering your trade mark gives you the exclusive right to use your mark in the UK
Which is why we paid for it to be registered.
Last edited by readytoleave; 15-11-10 at 01:04 AM. Reason: clarify
Having a trademark doesn't stop someone using that to discuss your brand. He just can't pretend to be your brand. Legally, he's doing absolutely nothing wrong. At the absolute best you could maybe force the removal of your logo, thats it.
I'm not simply making this up or guessing - we have a voucher site and had this checked out by a solicitor before we started.
a. he is using our logo without our permission
b. he is saying we may have voucher codes - we don't do voucher codes
c. The link is dead and the page shown says "Sorry, the link to Ready to Leave doesn’t appear to work at this time.
This might be because the retailer’s website is no longer available"
I am advised I can't say anything except point out to third parties what they can see themselves as our legal people are involved now.
There are other things ...
Point a, I've already conceded that a voucher site might not be able to use your logo.
Point b, saying you might have voucher codes is fine. If you don't have any, he's perfectly entitled to suggest other stores that do.
Point c, he's not saying your site is unavailable, he's saying it might not be. Sure its a sleazy business practice, but again its not technically breaking any laws.
We actively encourage discussion of our brand - I fact we spend a lot of time encouraging it!
I am not allowed to comment too much but I have been involved with aggressive companies in VERY competitive markets before - most of them meet a sticky end at the end of the day.
Last edited by readytoleave; 15-11-10 at 02:18 AM. Reason: spelling as usual
@dougs@readytoleave - have either of you contacted MVC to request removal from their listings?
Yesterday, we found that MVC also have a page for us on their site. This is the cached version:
Hotvouchers.com Discount Codes | Hotvouchers.com Vouchers & Promotional Codes
I just hope that anyone seeing the page doesn't think we're in any way associated with them. I'm also assuming that they haven't restricted this honour just to us and have done the same for the other major UK voucher sites.
Stephen
Stephen Felstead - Hotvouchers.com
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks