getvisible (28-10-08)
I'm not sure the networks know there own rules well enough to know if they are being bent or broken...Actually I don't know what the rules are well enough on each network to know whether they are being bent or broken
I think they all say iframes/forced clicks are not ok - but happily allow what I would say are forced clicks (e.g. click here to visit merchant and reveal our latest code) to be allowed in some form or another.
And that therefore gives us.....
Rules of Affiliate Fight Club
1. If you're earning money for the network and aren't caught - that's in the rules!
2. If you're earning money for the network and get spotted by another affiliate and reported - then you'll be breaking em.
New Year Resolution #1 for me - stop being so cynical
Jason
getvisible (28-10-08)
3. If merchant catches affiliates bending rules and decides to terminate contract then don't bother enforcing 30 day notice period
David Macfarlane
Cost effective web development. Codewise
Sorry, i meant coupon site, not cashback! I didn't realise that using a coupon for a merchant still meant the affiliate gained commission? I thought some don't allow this?
or have i just jumped fully into the deep side of the pool![]()
bapages (01-02-10), getvisible (28-10-08)
Hi Mark, me again.
Just wanted to say thank you for changing your email newsletter format away from the one that you 'borrowed' from us (yes the one with the links to PriceDash.com still intact).
It only took you 2 years, almost to the day (yes I've been checking your newsletters each week) so many thanks for the quick response. In fact the dates seem to match up with this article so you must be true to your word and taking on a more ethical approach - good on ya! :tup
Real Business - "I won't fight fire with fire," says MyVoucherCodes boss
Now if you would only stop doing Google PPC advertising on our website/domain name 'PriceDash' (i.e. passing off) then perhaps we could become best buddies.
P.S. I applaud your efforts in trying to cover your more unethical ways of the past by populating the Google search results with blog entries having the same titles as some of these forum threads and also releasing more PR such as above. Nice work.![]()
I would just like to add our site to this very informative thread, as another of Mark Pearson's victims. His latest site which he proudly proclaims is "Launched and founded in December 2009 by Mark Pearson" is a copy of our site cardsmart.co.uk.
If you visit, but please don't link to wecompare, you will see both our general design and our actual images and formatting being used, without permission.
I would have thought after the success of MVC the Mark could fund an original design, but of course it's easier and cheaper to copy people who know what they are doing.
I would very much appreciate if networks and merchants refuse to approve this site and help to keep the affiliate industry free of scammers. Remember it could be your site he copies next!
Your sites def been used as 'inspiration' but I am not sure that its 'copied'
Sure the navigation is the same and the sub navigation in some places. Also some of the articles have the same titles and are themed around a re-write of your content but their is nothing copied verbatim. Or at least nothing I could find.
The only duplicate stuff I could find was the Legal Page thats the same as moneysupermarket, but that maybe legit.
Have you actually found anything copied other than the principle.
Ta
Baz
Yeah, what he's done to your site sure shows he lacks integrity.
The mouseover effect reads "Compare anything & everything" kind of suggests he intends to expand on credit cards at some point.
Thats not drawing inspiration, thats copying. If someone produced a replica of a Picasso with only a few changes people would say its a copy. If someone did a painting of the same model in their only style then people would say it was inspired by a Picasso.
That site has been copied to the point at which it sails close to the edge it would be enough to cause debate.
Sparkster (29-01-10)
The content was copied too when I first looked before Christmas (I can send you the screenshots if you would like), but Mark knows that Google won't like that so he's updating it - mainly by rearranging the words from the fsa's website.
The picture in the news are still identical as is the "Card image coming soon". I could go on but I really think it's obvious if you compare the two especially if you look beyond the homepage and into the directory.
If you search google for all his sites (just do a search for "Markco Media Ltd" that's put on every site)..
and this one popped up:
http:// cockpumper .co.uk/
chortle
It seems pretty straight forward to me. If you are certain you can prove anything, put him on notice then if it makes money in the next 3 years claim a percentage from the courts for royalties/copyright theft.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks