Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38

 

Thread: Google Payment Warning! Important

  1. #1
    www.sctmedia.com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,455
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts


    We have just spent hours talking to a company in Twickenham and cancelled our cards for suspected CC fraud, but turned out that Google had changed the name to PTI Europe Limited on the statement, which is a company in Twickenham.

  2. #2
    Travel Squared

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    891
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 66 Times in 42 Posts
    Bollocks.

    Ive done this too, cancelled our cards with Abbey suspecting fraud.

    Thanks for the update.

    Affiliate Citizen
    Holiday Reviews & Travel Deals || Travel Merchants: Please contact me if you have special offers or codes

  3. #3
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Are you sure "PTI Europe Limited" is Google, I think you will find its Overture (Yahoo).

    Do you agree?

  4. #4
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bapages View Post
    We have just spent hours talking to a company in Twickenham and cancelled our cards for suspected CC fraud, but turned out that Google had changed the name to PTI Europe Limited on the statement, which is a company in Twickenham.
    What? "Google had changed the name..."

    Sorry but can you explain a bit further what exactly has happened here? Thanks.
    Anthony (Ambski)
    AMB
    Print - Web - Multimedia

  5. #5
    www.sctmedia.com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,455
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambski View Post
    What? "Google had changed the name..."

    Sorry but can you explain a bit further what exactly has happened here? Thanks.
    Basically as my thread, checked the account this am and found a transaction for an unusaual name, queried with the bank and they stopped the card and issuing a new one. Chased the company on the statement and they advised they are being inundated with queries. They rang back to advise their bank has looked into this and found it to be Google. So I checked my account and sure enough the last invoice matched the amount.

  6. #6
    Travel Squared

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    891
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 66 Times in 42 Posts
    Yes its def google, invoices match the amounts.

    Ive spoken to our google rep and she is looking into it.

    Ill let people know what they say.
    Affiliate Citizen
    Holiday Reviews & Travel Deals || Travel Merchants: Please contact me if you have special offers or codes

  7. #7
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sounds more like one of the banks or credit card companies have screwed up and are printing the name of PTI Europe instead of Google. Having looked at PTI's website I can't see why Google would use them to process payments or why they wouldn't have informed their customers to expect a change on their statements.

    I've checked my statement and my last payment to Google shows it as Google not PTI Europe.

  8. #8
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    224
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Amazingly it is both Google and Yahoo now showing as 'PTI Europe Region.' Seems they both started it on the 19th March.

  9. #9
    DioBach's Avatar
    .com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tenby, Wales, UK
    Posts
    777
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Riddys View Post
    Amazingly it is both Google and Yahoo now showing as 'PTI Europe Region.' Seems they both started it on the 19th March.
    Worryingly, I've just seen a £5 charge from them, but I'm buggered if I can find any record of it anywhere. Could it be feasible that some one has set up an adwords account and are using my details?

  10. #10
    tbp
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
    Could it be feasible that some one has set up an adwords account and are using my details
    It's possible, although they would need your 3 digit card security code which would be difficult to get. Did you set up a new account when the Google slap happened?

  11. #11
    DioBach's Avatar
    .com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tenby, Wales, UK
    Posts
    777
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tbp View Post
    It's possible, although they would need your 3 digit card security code which would be difficult to get. Did you set up a new account when the Google slap happened?
    No, haven't had a chance yet. I checked the few dormant accounts I had as well, no sign of a charge in any of them.

  12. #12
    DioBach's Avatar
    .com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tenby, Wales, UK
    Posts
    777
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts

  13. #13
    www.sctmedia.com

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,455
    Thanks
    79
    Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts
    Spoke to PTI this morning and they said they are getting inundated with calls about aol and small amounts. PTI Europe are a security specialist retailing cctv etc and nothing to do with internet.

  14. #14
    Diamond Geez

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southgate, London N14
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I dunno if its linked but there is a wave of adwords phishing going on over Easter weekend. My Adwords account emails have been getting lots of fake adwords emails such as card declined fakes that encourage you to login and fix.

    The emails copy the usual google canned spam templates and redirect to a disguised .cn web address. So you login and a fraudster gets your adwords login and then goes and spends your money. If enough people have been screwed over then this may be related?


  15. #15
    getvisible's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    My Neighbour is Elvis
    Posts
    4,562
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 51 Times in 34 Posts
    Had this from a client:

    Hi Lee – This has just been forwarded to me by **other client name**. I think it’s a phishing mail as ‘stopped’ is spelt incorrectly and the destination is a .cn URL. Pretty good attempt though, hats off to them...

    From: Google AdWords [mailto:reactivation@google.com]
    Posted At: 25 March 2008 09:40
    Posted To: **HIDDEN**
    Conversation: [SPAM] Your AdWords Google Account is stoped
    Subject: [SPAM] Your AdWords Google Account is stoped


    This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
    not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Dear Google AdWords Customer,

    Please sign in to your account at Welcome to AdWords , and update your billing information.
    Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.
    Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit
    or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive
    your signed debit authorization before your ads start running,
    depending on your location.
    If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your
    first payment.


    We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

    Sincerely,


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The Google AdWords Team

    the link actually goes to: http://adwords.**added**google.com.f.../select/Login/

    Luckily I didn't use it.
    Do you have products for review on my chocolate reviews or Easter eggs blog?s PM me.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Important reading. Google internal spam guide.
    By aldo in forum Affiliate Marketing Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-08-05, 10:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2