WOW!
And you know why? Cos they'll be affected by cookie killers once they're doing their affiliate stuff.
Just done a search and noticed this under the result:
"This site may harm your computer." (Google's explanation)
The site is a fellow affiliates on this board and I'm sure he's done nowt wrong. (Not sure he'd want me to reveal the site).
Here's another site showing it:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...ys&btnG=Search
And the warning message:
http://www.google.com/interstitial?u.../hotkeys.shtml
http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en...omputer.&meta=
Anyone else seeing this?![]()
Looks to me like a "defamation of character" case waiting to happen.
Si
Simon
Hi,
Yes I saw this the other day when searching - must admit that I didn't
click the link that had the warning message - good if it was correct/bad if it was a mistake![]()
It looks like Google will try to get out of the responsibility of wrongly reported
sites with this:
"This identification is determined by guidelines set by StopBadware.org If you feel your site has been mistakenly identified, or you make changes to your site so that it no longer spreads malicious software, you can request that your site be reviewed.
All appeals and reviews are handled by StopBadware.org......
...They will investigate and contact you with their findings. If they determine that your site does not spread malicious software, they will inform Google, who will remove the identification from the search results."
Cheers
Steve
I generally listen to the daily search cast, this has been reported on quite heavily in there ... (podcast - I get it beamed straight to the phone via wifi in the mornings, before the commute) ... Its quite entertaining ...
Anyhow, if you have got your webmaster central thing setup (www.google.com/sitemap(s) ) it should tell you in there, and you can discuss with them.
The sheer amount of adware / spyware / rubbish out there is really damaging computers ... shame, I rememeber a time before spam and malware ... (glazed eyes)
I use McAfee site advisor on all my computers now and it seems to be a pretty reliable guide as to whether it is safe to browse a site or not, using the firefox extension you get a a nice green tick in search engine results for a safe site
Keith ~ My Blog general ramblings. Internet Marketing Blogs UK all the blogs together in one place (pm for inclusion)
I've just had this removed from my site after a week of no google traffic. I thougt at first that Google were being silly buggers (as I don't host any badware intentionally).
The problem was that my web server had been compromised and a single line of javascript had been added to the end of my index page which was trying to exploit IE vulnerabilities.
Stopbadware.org still haven't got back to me after I told them I removed it and that the server has been patched but google have removed the ban and the alert so all is well again.
Matt Cutt's blog pointed me in the right direction of where to look see the post here
The Javascript tries to install an active x command I believe but would only do so if the user accepted the install request (unless they have IE's security set to very low).
Hope this helps if anyone else finds themselves in the same boat.
Brett
Brett
Brett, it was your site I was referring to.
I couldn't remember your forum handle - thought you were called Aaron for some reason
Good to see you got it sorted!
A number of our hosting client have suffered this fate. Not because their sites are trying to infect people, but because session ID's in URL's are being flagged up by Google as malware. They haven't thought about this one it seems.
Regards,
James Smith,
UH Hosting Ltd
Join our Affiliate Program - Starting at 10% commission and 6 day active session
James,
I am not sure that the reason is down to session id's or there would be a lot of sites flagged - according to the above Google are taking the lead from Stopbadware.org as to sites it is flagging.
Cheers
Steve
Regards,
James Smith,
UH Hosting Ltd
Join our Affiliate Program - Starting at 10% commission and 6 day active session
Oh ok just sounded a bit strange that's all as obviously there are a lot of
sites in Google with session id's that don't appear to have been flagged.
I have just checked mine just in case - but luckily ok.
BTW the email that you mention is it from Google?
Cheers
Steve
Regards,
James Smith,
UH Hosting Ltd
Join our Affiliate Program - Starting at 10% commission and 6 day active session
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks