Affiliate Marketing
Forum Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-05
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rich is an unknown quantity at this point
  DirectRevenue

I haven't come across DirectRevenue before, as I've focussed heavily on 180 solutions, but looking at their website they look like they are in the same market using a similar distribution model. From the site: -
Quote:
For current distributors of Claria, WhenU or 180Solutions, contact DirectRevenue to see if you qualify for our Guaranteed 20% Boost contract which will allow you to earn more money distributing DirectRevenue’s software.
This is one of the methods that highlighted 180 to many people, by paying others to distribute the software you are encouraging them to sneak it onto users machines without them realising.

I've just found an article by Ben Edelman that looks into DirectRevenue and shows that it does get installed via security holes. It was Ben's work that originally got me started on 180. http://www.benedelman.org/news/120704-1.html

Similar to 180, they use lots of names for different parts of the business, including direct-revenue.com (core), abetterinternet.com (software install), bestoffers.bz (advertising), mypctuneup.com (uninstall - it is againsnt the EULA to remove the product in any other way).

On their home page they say: -
Quote:
DirectRevenue’s contextual ad network – OfferOptimizer – is one among the Internet’s 10 most heavily trafficked sites according to Alexa.com.'
When you look at offeroptimizer.com there are no crawlable pages, even the search form takes you to a different site, so all this traffic must be coming from adware. If you follow the link to keyword sales it takes you to offeroptimizer.mygeek.com and then there is a link to 'our network' which lists plenty of related companies to be aware of, including 180solutions.

In short, another company for networks to watch out for.

The following article includes more details along with 23 related domains - http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/6689667/site/newsweek/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,260
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
More worries.
Thanks for the info.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-05
Julie H's Avatar
*****
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Surrey
Posts: 457
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Julie H is an unknown quantity at this point
After being hit by the MSN Virus thingy the other day - and subsequent 3 days of trying to remove everything put onto my pc, I take my hat off to you Rich . For someone to take the time to willingly infect their computer with this scum and run various reports on it takes a certain kind of person (not me), I've been pulling my hair out trying to get rid of it (I think it's done now) and it's thanks to people like you making us everymore aware of it.

I hated scumware before and I like it even less now.

Jules
__________________
read my rants at www.affiliatewidow.co.uk
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-05
Thradrienia's Avatar
Singleton Extraordinare
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thradrienia is an unknown quantity at this point
Buy their other url extensions & point them to a spyware removal product
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-05
loquax's Avatar
www.onelittleduck.co.uk
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Swansea
Posts: 2,411
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
loquax seems to know their stuff
Quote:
After being hit by the MSN Virus thingy the other day - and subsequent 3 days of trying to remove everything put onto my pc, I take my hat off to you Rich
I don't have a hat to take off, but I agree with Julie

It took me til 2am last night to finally clear the computer and it's now adware free.

I have to admit that prior to this, I was aware of these things, knew they were bad but shuffled along probably in a "don't get involved way" leaving the arguments to the ones that know and a simplistic belief the networks & merchants will act in favour of their affiliate partners.

Having seen, and apologies if i'm not meant to name/shame here, but i will - Betfair, 888, Pacific Poker, Casino.co.uk, BClub, Samsung, pop up on Loquax, 888, Pacific Poker, Cyberslotz, Ritz Club pop up on our whitelabel JPJ site and whilst battling to remove the crap that generates this stuff also seeing plenty of pop ups for searchrabbit - appearing on my PC I'm not too happy and the old eyes are a little wider open today.

I would love one network to justify to me why a company/merchant should be allowed to advertise over my site for free - i.e. not earning my site income from advertising?

I would love one network to justify to me why this kind of advertising is regarded as being as acceptable use?

I would love the merchants (especially those above) to explain why they're happy to pay for advertising in the adware manner, thereby hijacking sales/income from the site that is being targetted.

I would love a legal expert to test whether a trigger using my trademark is legitimate fair use and not infringement - also whether the fact there's no indication the advert is mine or not if there isn't a case of "passing off" (i.e. the user mistakenly believes the advert is part of the site and either (a) interacts as they think they're supporting the site or (b) never returns as their experience has been blighted).

The power to stop this lies with networks first (don't allow it - it's not a puzzle - this stuff is $hit) and merchants (if the network allows it then you're with the wrong network or agency).

One of the elements added to my PC was from "abetterinternet" - no it isn't!!! The only way the internet will be better is if these companies are not supported by networks and merchants alike!

What might be an idea is that at the next main get2gether, an infected PC is set up and it is demonstrated to merchants and networks in front of their peers what exactly happens not only on the affiliate sites - but to the users PC (and i'll tell you this the spyware software that you can download does not always clear out your registry and leaves remnants around).

Believe me - seeing someone advertise on your site for free is a good kick up the butt to get you annoyed about this stuff (that and spending about 14 hours clearing it up).

What I'd also love to see is a anti-spyware page on every affiliate site - detailing how to act against it - and a list of any/every merchant that is found to be popping up via adware on that site.

Anyway - time for a cuppa!

Rant over and out.

Jason
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-05
Qui Gon Jinn's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Qui Gon Jinn is on a distinguished roadQui Gon Jinn is on a distinguished road
Quote:
What I'd also love to see is a anti-spyware page on every affiliate site - detailing how to act against it - and a list of any/every merchant that is found to be popping up via adware on that site.
Here Here !
__________________
DisclaimerThis communication contains information which is confidential and/or maybe privileged. All information contained herein is without prejudice.Blog Moose On The Loose.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-05
David Bowley's Avatar
Businessman
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
David Bowley is an unknown quantity at this point
Not sure if the MSN virus affects Linux boxes, so some of us might be safe.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Affiliate Marketing RSS Feeds - Contact Us - Affiliate Marketing - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7