Results 1 to 6 of 6

 

Thread: Scumware Affecting Google

  1. #1
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Is anyone aware of spyware affecting natural Google results?

    I have just been doing some searches and have realised I'm getting 13 results per page and results 2-4 are not the same as results for the same keyword on a 'clean' pc.

    The url's of the inserted results go though http://searchbrowser.com/, unfortunatly I'm not sure where I picked this up.

    I will attach a screen shot of this, I find this very worrying if it's a wide spread thing, especially as they could insert as many as they wanted.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    resutls 2-3-4 are indeed big questionmarks. The dont appear on my PC

  3. #3
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You're right!

    I've just compared them to my Google search and results 2-4 are different!

    I hope it is spyware and not just Google trying something itself!

    Nasty!

  4. #4
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes I think this is a big worry, its not Google because the url's go though http://searchbrowser.com/ which would be very un-google like.

  5. #5
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,448
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The related searches look like an addition aswell.

    looks like a few infections :- http://info.alexa.com/data/details?p...chbrowser.com/ - though that domain may be used for other things.

  6. #6
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,448
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Doing a little digging. The NS for searchbrowser.com are in cdtnet.net, the contact address for which is at Loudmarketing.com. Doing a search on that takes you to a few anti-spyware sites, including www.pestpatrol.com/pestinfo/l/loudmarketing.asp



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2