Results 1 to 12 of 12

 

Thread: CJ/Marbles SPAM - Nicky/Steve, action please!

  1. #1
    JF
    Guest



    Just received some spam which was an ad for Marbles credit cards. Although the link in the spam wasn't a CJ link, it was redirected via CJ.

    Spamming is against CJ's terms and conditions, and I imagine Marbles won't be too happy if people think they're sending spam.

    Nicky/Steve, please take some action against these people - they're known spammers.

    The email I received was from recessionspecials.com, a domain that was only registered a couple of weeks ago. But I noticed the style was identical to a lot of other spam I've received, from emailsupersavers.com, amazingwebspecials.com, greatfamilyoffers.com and probably quite a few more, andd they appear to all be the same company. I get on average 5 emails a day from these people. A Google Groups search will reveal that they're known spammers.
    Their websites claim that their mailing lists are strictly opt-in, and they don't tolerate spam, but this is not true, they are nothing more than spammers pretending to be legitimate.

    People like this shouldn't be given a chance, CJ should kick them out immediately.



  2. #2
    marbles steve
    Guest

    Thanks JF

    Can you e-mail me (address in profile) the offending e-mail, if you haven't already deleted it, and I'll investiagte when I get to the office tomorrow.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    JF
    Guest


    The email's on its way.



  4. #4
    affiliateteam
    Guest

    I was just looking for Nicky's email for the same reason. I am currently getting 15 emails per day from the above mentioned, each promoting CJ's merchants. If you want copies I'll be pleased to forward them to you. This has been going on for about a week now.

    Rob
    www.affiliateteam.co.uk

  5. #5
    JF
    Guest


    I've done a bit of digging around various anti spam sites, spam blocking lists and usenet, and it seems that the person resposible is Joshua Baer, a known spammer who is an associate of notorious spammer Scott Richter.

    Joshua Baer runs a company called skylist.net, which claims to be an opt in email list company, but in reality it's just the public face of a huge spamming operation.


    One of the addresses used by Joshua Baer is
    Box 202885
    Austin, TX 78720

    The spam I received was sent from a Rackspace IP address, and you can find a list of the Rackspace sites on the Spamhaus Block List here: www.spamhaus.org/sbl/list...kspace.com
    Notice how many of the listed spamming sites also have the "Box 202885" address. This bloke's responsible for a huge amount of spam, but it seems that Rackspace don't take action against spammers.

    If you search Google Groups for him you'll find a lot more information about his spamming activities:groups.google.com/groups?...ISO-8859-1







  6. #6
    pericom
    Guest

    Damn rackspace they hosting and aiding spammers.. I get tons of emails with web sites hosted at rackspace they just ignore them all.

  7. #7
    Affiliates4u
    Guest

    Me too.

    Received Marbles, Expedia and Essential Travel today - expect i'll get a few more in the morning..

    These guys need to be removed from the networks and monies given to charity or something.



  8. #8
    Nicky Iapino
    Guest

    Hi Everyone

    Firstly JF, thanks for alerting us to this. As you were posting, we received a number of enquiries about this spammer. His activity was identified within hours of the spam going out and of course he was deleted from our network. This guy has never worked with CJ before and this activity was the first and last time through our network.
    You will all be pleased to know that this guy has not earned one penny with CJ and once a spammer is identified, all commission are reversed back to the Advertiser.

    Thanks again JF
    Rob, if you need my email address it's niapino@cj.com

    Nicky

  9. #9
    JF
    Guest

    Thanks for the prompt action Nicky.

    Notice you've been posting quite late here recently, are you working late or are you in the US of A at the moment?



  10. #10
    Affiliates4u
    Guest

    These guys seem to be spamming me again today with marbles banners.

    recessionspecials.com stated in the email.

    other info:

    sending a blank email to unsub-96322633-4403@recessionspecials.com
    OR
    Sending a postal mail to CustomerService, 4837 U. S. Route 36 East # 911 Decatur, IL 62521-9725



  11. #11
    JF
    Guest

    I got the same spam again last night.

    Maybe they've re-joined CJ under a new name.



  12. #12
    Nicky Iapino
    Guest

    Hi Jeff

    You were right - I was in the U.S.
    Would you be able to forward me a copy of the most recent spam email you received. It doesn't seem to have had the circulation and I want to look into it further.
    niapino@cj.com
    Thanks
    Nicky



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Action Referral Occurrences
    By Qui Gon Jinn in forum Commission Junction
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-04, 05:34 PM
  2. New spam law
    By Jeff in forum Affiliate Marketing Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-12-03, 07:42 PM
  3. cookies / spam
    By sticky in forum Affiliate Marketing Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-03, 11:16 AM
  4. Spam Spam Spam Spam Spam
    By qwerky in forum Affiliate Marketing Lounge
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-09-03, 01:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2