No idea why you're not listed on Ask, but don't worry too much as they have less than 3% of searches in the UK.
I decided to have a little scoot around the various search engines tonight to see where my site appears.
One I have never really visited before is Ask.com so I thought I'd take a look.
My site isn't even on there. I typed in the url and everything - zilch.
My site has been online for around 4 years now, has a Google PR4, quite a few IBLs and shouldn't be too hard to find.
Looks like I have been blacklisted (although for what, I cannot fathom - I don't use any dodgy SEO techniques on the site).
Has anyone else any experience of this? Does anyone know of a way to find out if I am blacklisted?
No idea why you're not listed on Ask, but don't worry too much as they have less than 3% of searches in the UK.
Ask.com have such a small market share (i think its a lot lower than 3%) that it simply doesn't matter whether you are included or not.
The main search (google, yahoo and msn) have different algos and you can't optimise for all of them. Therefore, it you think you have a good change on getting a good position on google, focus on that becuase it will delivery the biggest returns. If you are going to struggle on google focus on the type of SEO techniques which work well on either msn or yahoo.
Thanks chaps.
I'd still like to know why I'm not on there though (and what, if anything, I can do about it).
Even if it does only get 3% of the UK search requests, that is still probably millions of searches over a 12 month period and a couple thousand of them might have led to me.
![]()
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks