Results 1 to 13 of 13

 

Thread: Yahoo's Uk distributor???

  1. #1
    Leeky's Avatar
    Pagerank10.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 185 Times in 126 Posts


    We received a phone call and email today from Internet Technology & Media - Search, contextual solutions, dynamic content and customised solutions for your website audiance who claim to be Yahoo's Uk distributor.

    I've no idea how yahoo ads work but the above set up an account to test out yahoo's ads (like google adsense)

    The odd thing is that we have been asked to login via justgomedia to set up these ads and get the ad code to place on our website.

    Is this the normal way of getting yahoo ads on your website?, oh and also I did a check on justgomedia.com and the domain was only registered in June 2007 which doesnt give me too much confidence.

    I've tried to set up a yahoo ad account via yahoo but after i fill in the relevent form i get sent to an email a friend form (which you are forced to fill in) then after that it goes back to the very begining.. all seems very strange to me.

    Lee
    iCodes - Free Voucher and Offer API Available.

  2. #2
    Leeky's Avatar
    Pagerank10.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 185 Times in 126 Posts
    I take it nobody knows anything about justgomedia.com then?

    Lee
    iCodes - Free Voucher and Offer API Available.

  3. #3
    Merchant User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    1,440
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Probably not in the 12 hours since posting where most sleep takes place

    I think you've answered your own question to be honest, a domain only just registered and offering you a setup via email, i'd run a mile!

  4. #4
    Leeky's Avatar
    Pagerank10.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 185 Times in 126 Posts
    Normally I would have run a mile straight away but they phoned us first then sent the login details via email which is why I thought they may be legit.

    I think ill reply to their email saying no thanks then, even though we agreed to give it a go on the phone.

    Didn't think affiliates went to sleep???

    Lee
    iCodes - Free Voucher and Offer API Available.

  5. #5
    Merchant User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    1,440
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeky View Post
    Didn't think affiliates went to sleep???
    Really, i thought they only worked 10 til 4

  6. #6
    Leeky's Avatar
    Pagerank10.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 185 Times in 126 Posts
    Is that 10pm till 4am because thats the times i usually work, the rest of the time I don't really know what im doing... i must be doing something???

    Lee
    iCodes - Free Voucher and Offer API Available.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,584
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 189 Times in 98 Posts
    Leg it mate - sounds dodgy.
    TotalSearchSolutions now providing Affiliate Management services as well as Paid Search
    www.totalsearchsolutions.co.uk

  8. #8
    90% of all sites are crap

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    the moon
    Posts
    1,700
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 68 Times in 44 Posts
    no dont panic. Its a legit set up. There are other companies out there supplying Yahoo Search Marketing ads too tho....PM me I'll tell you who!

    Tom
    Tokyo::Paris::New York::Bromley

  9. #9
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Burlington, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    They contacted me seem legit but despite them saying they could give me an xml feed it really was just a piece of javascript not what I needed to integrate the results.

  10. #10
    Leeky's Avatar
    Pagerank10.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 185 Times in 126 Posts
    ok, so now ive had my google adsense account for pagerank10 banned im wanting to get some yahoo ads on there now... so what do I do again because I no longer have any emails from the yahoo distributor who contact me months ago.

    p.s. The google ads ban had nothing to do with us, and precautions have now been taken to prevent anyone else putting there google ads on our site using the 'full page ad' service. (which got us banned)

    Lee
    iCodes - Free Voucher and Offer API Available.

  11. #11
    Shane's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sheffield - Worldwide Skiver
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 70 Times in 34 Posts
    pm me your contact details. ie full name, company name, email, and a phone number and I'll put you in touch with someone who can sort out a yahoo enabled feed and they'll get you up running fast

  12. #12
    Leeky's Avatar
    Pagerank10.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3,090
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 185 Times in 126 Posts
    Hi Shane

    pm sent...

    Cheers

    Lee
    iCodes - Free Voucher and Offer API Available.

  13. #13
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tomj View Post
    no dont panic. Its a legit set up. There are other companies out there supplying Yahoo Search Marketing ads too tho....PM me I'll tell you who!

    Tom
    Hi Tom,

    Please tell us who distributors

    Thanks
    Mo



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Yahoos new tech price comparison site
    By futureweb in forum Affiliate Marketing Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-06, 09:28 AM
  2. BT Yahoo!'s new Anytime offer:
    By Chris Garner in forum DGM Affiliates
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-04, 05:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2