Affiliate Marketing
Forum Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,490
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
  302/meta refresh hijackings ..

Have got some concerns over google and how certain site links are being treated.

Someone's told me that this
http://search.cometsystems.com/searc...des&src_id=312

is causing me problems.


I've contacted them and asked them to remove my link as I have been advised but have heard nothing.

Does anyone else know about this? What else can I do?


Using this
http://www.searchengineworld.com/cgi...ervercheck.cgi

Server Header Checker

Server Response: http://sl.cometsystems.com/r?u=http%...ons+promotiona
Status: HTTP/1.1 302 Found


Is this the dreaded 302?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-05
renegade's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,220
Thanks: 78
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
renegade seems to know their stuffrenegade seems to know their stuff
I'm also worried about the implications of this 302 mularky but have no idea why links on com*tsystems are "a bad thing".

Any explanations and/or courses of action welcome...
__________________
Joe's CantBarsed Blog | Discount Codes
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-05
Keith's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,116
Thanks: 19
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Keith seems to know their stuff
dont know if this will help, perhaps someone more technical can coment.

you could add this to your .htaccess file to block traffic from cometsystems

SetEnvIfNoCase Referer "^http://search.cometsystems.com/" BadReferrer
order deny,allow
deny from env=BadReferrer
__________________
Keith
My Blog general ramblings. Internet Marketing Blogs UK all the blogs together in one place (pm for inclusion)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-05
purple's Avatar
Affiliate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 2,016
Thanks: 21
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
purple is an unknown quantity at this point
what is 302.

Also findspot.com seem to be getting lots of high ranking pages many in my area have scraped my content

Last edited by purple; 09-01-05 at 11:08 PM..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,490
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
Could well be.

Doing a randomly picked link off their site and using that checker above...

Server Header Checker

Server Response: http://theirbitremoved /redir.php?re...mtzPTEwJnVwbG5
Status: HTTP/1.1 302 Found
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-05
purple's Avatar
Affiliate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 2,016
Thanks: 21
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
purple is an unknown quantity at this point
thanks for that but what can I do to put this right?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-05
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Coopson is an unknown quantity at this point
you can't!

It's a bug with Google....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-05
km8 km8 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gondor
Posts: 1,196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
km8 is an unknown quantity at this point
  Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by purple
what does 302 cause findspot.com seem to get lots of high ranking pages
Don't spoil the ship for want of a ha'p'orth of full stops.
Or did you substitute "cause" for "because"?

I couldn't figure out what your question meant.

I'm not just nitpickin' - it's easier to answer if you know what the question means
Edit: PS. Looks like Mogga worked it out - perhaps it's just me
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,490
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
I think that this 302 redirect issue could be bigger than spyware...

HTTP 302 redirect which is a response header telling the browser the document has been temporarily moved.

If google is respecting 302 redirect codes from nasty/spammy sites then its ignoring my site and I'm losing money because of this.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-05
km8 km8 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gondor
Posts: 1,196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
km8 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Mogga
I think that this 302 redirect issue could be bigger than spyware...

HTTP 302 redirect which is a response header telling the browser the document has been temporarily moved.

If google is respecting 302 redirect codes from nasty/spammy sites then its ignoring my site and I'm losing money because of this.
You mean I could put up a page with a 302 redirect to Yahoo and G**gle would think Yahoo's pages had moved to my site so I'd get all Yahoo's traffic from G?

Is that how it works and how can I check if it's happening to me?

PS Tried to PM you but your box was full. I don't think I'm affected but I don't know how to check
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-05
Mogga's Avatar
Chocaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oldham
Posts: 5,490
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
Mogga is an unknown quantity at this point
I think you need a higher PR to steal it ...

http://search.cometsystems.com/searc...des&src_id=312

This site lists to lots of other sites ... using a 302 redirect


http://www.searchengineworld.com/cgi...ervercheck.cgi


For one of the links this url shows
Server Response: http://sl.cometsystems.com/r?u=http%...s+promotional+
Status: HTTP/1.1 302 Found
Date: Sun, 09 Jan 2005 12:14:28 GMT
Server: Apache
Location: http://www.promotionalcode.co.uk/lin...ther-sites.htm
Keep-Alive: timeout=15, max=50
Connection: Keep-Alive
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1


its a 302 redirect

What is a 302 redirect
HTTP 302 redirect which is a response header telling the browser the document has been temporarily moved.


Which I think means
Search Engines and the 302 problem
This feature has significance when viewed in context with search engines, when confronted with a HTTP 302 response they generally will terminate the indexing of your site. Translated, search engines may be ignorning large or even all parts of your site.

Which means the sites that link to you via a 302 are basically sucking the life out of your site as they're telling google that your site isn't there.

I think this is what it is - someone with more technical knowledge might be able to confirm or deny this.

How to tell if your site is affected?
Well I'd assume if your site is listed on that cometzone one then you're affected.

You'll tell cos you have a lot less google traffic than you used to and I think the googlebot will still be visiting you - but the question is what to do about it.


Without being able to stop all sites linking to you via a 302 I don't know.

I've emailed that site several times and asked them to remove all links to me. I had someone in the UK 302'ing me recently and spoke to him on the phone ans got him to remove the link. He claimed the search engines didn't mind it - ha! Well I mind it even if they don't.

I think google needs to look at how it acts on a 302.

I would appreciate feedback and your thoughts on this issue.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote