What is your website URL?
Hi i am looking for some help with overcoming a google penalty for Doorway pages. If anyone could help please let me know
Sean
What is your website URL?
Search Engine Optimization Company | Tea Craft Store Know more about our Professional IT Services follow us on twitter @ourscompany
Website URL is Flybe Destinations - UK and European Flights
what makes you think it is a penalty?
seems to me like you have been intensely building links recently and perhaps over done it a bit.... ill figure how to upload you the image...
http://justlinkbuilding.com/wp-conte...link-spike.jpg
try that...
does it ring true that you have been link building with anchor texts recently?
Other than that... im not sure - there are a few ways to get back but depends on why you were banned...
all the best.![]()
justlinkbuilding.... is that your site dietcola? You've got me curious....
indeed JLB is me Bud...
Glad to hear its made you think...
here is a link to a post i wrote about building links too quickly and getting banned... the image is the most important part as that explains how to build inline with your competitions acquisition rates.... the graph above was produced by the tools on majestic seo - i think you can draw similar graphs without paid membership if you want to look at any of your own websites or competitors backlinks too.
Organic Backlinks form Natural Rankings | Holistic Search Marketing
all the best![]()
Bud (18-05-11)
From Google
Not saying this reflects your website, just wondering how you think this might relate to your website?Doorway pages are typically large sets of poor-quality pages where each page is optimized for a specific keyword or phrase. In many cases, doorway pages are written to rank for a particular phrase and then funnel users to a single destination.
Whether deployed across many domains or established within one domain, doorway pages tend to frustrate users, and are in violation of our Webmaster Guidelines.
Well i have made many changes to the site since receiving the original message from the Google Webmaster team, however they have come back to me a 2nd time indicating that there are still problem pages. As an aside i gather it is unusual for the Webmaster team to communicate with Webmasters.
Sean
Just thinking out loud. Maybe the suggestion is that you have created a site with the sole purpose of directing users to a single destination. A Google algorithm possibly flagged up your website for some sort of review. If you are receiving messages from real people then it is likely someone took a quick look and agreed with the algo.
I think looking at your site as a user would help. Looking at your right hand menu why would you not have a heading of "Flights from" then just the locations as links for ease of scanning and selection for the user.
The below looks like the link is for anchor text only
Flights from Aberdeen
Flights from Belfast
Flights from Birmingham
Flights from Bristol
Flights from Cardiff
Flights from Doncaster
Are Flybe ok with you using their trademark in the url?
It'd be a shame if you put lots of work into the site and then they objected to it.
Maybe that's why Google banned you? It's just an affiliate doorway site to Flybe.
If you were ranking well for people searching for the real Flybe site then that may expalin the ban.
If that's the real reason for the ban it's unlikely you'll reverse it ever.
Best selection of Guillotines | Paper Guillotines online.
Did you clear all the doorway pages for which you were penalized?
Because Google will revoke the penalty for clean website after 2nd crawling.
Scan your website completely to make sure everything is right.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks