Affiliate Marketing
Forum Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22-03-05
charlton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: london
Posts: 198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
charlton is an unknown quantity at this point
  threat of legal action

I received an email from administrator-100@legal-notification.com
saying I was illegally using the trade mark "providence" to drive traffic to their competitors. I checked the page and it is an automatically generated doorway page and did have the word providence in one if the content links but did not link to my site. However I immetiately edided the page to remove the word.

Then a few weeks later I got another email about the same page threatening further action.

I have not responded as the word is not on the page anymore and I am not sure how genuine this is as their domain has no website on it.

Is it worth just deleting the page altogether or should I ignore it?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22-03-05
Keith's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,116
Thanks: 19
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Keith seems to know their stuff
Take a look at this Charlton might help you decide http://nsoldfogies.dyndns.org/phpBB2...f956dced7a9176
__________________
Keith
My Blog general ramblings. Internet Marketing Blogs UK all the blogs together in one place (pm for inclusion)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22-03-05
charlton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: london
Posts: 198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
charlton is an unknown quantity at this point
thanks keith, thats exactly the email i got. I thought it can't be serious as there was no postal details or phone number for the "lawyers".
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23-03-05
Keith's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,116
Thanks: 19
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Keith seems to know their stuff
bit of research on parent company brandimensions.com reveals they use a bot called BDFetch which appears regularly on banned bots lists
__________________
Keith
My Blog general ramblings. Internet Marketing Blogs UK all the blogs together in one place (pm for inclusion)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Affiliate Marketing RSS Feeds - Contact Us - Affiliate Marketing - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7