Results 1 to 7 of 7

 

Thread: Vitabiotics hit with Google Malware Warning

  1. #1
    befuddle's Avatar
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    1,101
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 61 Times in 45 Posts


    Vitabiotics that are on both Webgains and Altogether Ads has been hit with a Google malware warning.

    As well as the search results saying 'visiting this web site may harm your computer!', Google provides some information on the warning. It says ...

    Of the 896 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 116 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 09/13/2008, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 09/11/2008.

    Malicious software includes 125 scripting exploit(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 2 new processes on the target machine.

    Malicious software is hosted on 32 domain(s), including p060523.info, ibse.ru, 98hs.ru.

    10 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site
    ... and visitors typing in the address directly using the latest Firefox browser, see this warning. So the owners of the site, who typically may be using Internet Explorer, may not be aware.


  2. The Following User Says Thank You to befuddle For This Useful Post:

    kcheung (15-09-08)

  3. #2
    Typing with both fingers.

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Allt Y Coed Farm, North Pembrokeshire
    Posts
    4,123
    Thanks
    247
    Thanked 198 Times in 157 Posts
    Yeah I told them about it the other day, it does look like its another site on the same server that may be distributing code wither on the same I/P or through there site via a another exploit. Thats the problem with using shared hosting, lets hope they get it sorted. Thanks for the heads up though mate.

    Ta

    Baz

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Barry For This Useful Post:

    kcheung (15-09-08)

  5. #3
    Hero's Avatar
    Registered User

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,048
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 236 Times in 168 Posts
    I'm sure that Ken will be able to post some comments on this tomorrow morning and give you an update on the situation
    thanks
    Hero Grigoraki
    Head of Media Product
    lastminute.com

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Hero For This Useful Post:

    kcheung (15-09-08)

  7. #4
    Registered User

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    1,487
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 84 Times in 75 Posts
    There have been a large number of organised sql injection attacks this year, which have exploited new vulnerabilities and moved onto other combinations than php/mssql. Apparently one vulnerability has been leaked before the fix was announced.

    They are still having a go at a couple of our coldfusion sites, judging by the logs.

    Advise I was given is to check logs very regularly, because typically the bots test sites for some time before launching attacks. As usual, the bots are on 'innocent' infected computers, so you can't block IP's.

    I'm not sure if shared hosting is an issue - locking down the code thoroughly certainly is.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to aotagain For This Useful Post:

    kcheung (15-09-08)

  9. #5
    affiliate commando

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    london
    Posts
    2,068
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 145 Times in 115 Posts
    Hi Every one,

    Thanks for your patience waiting for a response from me.

    I've spoken with Vitabiotics about this as of Friday last week, as soon as I noticed it, hearing feed back from Barry and from the client, hopefully I can paint a clearer picture of what is going on.

    Last month their site can under hacker attack and they were forced to do some amendments, apparently they have been suffering this and their tech team now check for this kind of attack on a daily basis, as do we.

    To further compound their frustrations Google has marked their site as potentially damaging, however on checking this morning it seems OK.

    I've been speaking with the MD for Vitabiotics to emphasis just how important preventing this kind of attack is, not just for their affiliates, but for their brand reputation and online sales. They have assured me that it is of the utmost priority that they address this kind of issue, and have assured me they are more than willing to co-operate with affiliates to ensure that affiliates are able to run a successful and profitable campaign.

    If you have any further questions or if you need anything specific relating to this program, please contact me directly, ken.cheung@altogetherdigital.com; MSN k0106765 (at) yahoo (dot) co (dot) uk, Tel: 02031288632

    kind regards,

    ken

  10. #6
    Typing with both fingers.

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Allt Y Coed Farm, North Pembrokeshire
    Posts
    4,123
    Thanks
    247
    Thanked 198 Times in 157 Posts
    Hi Ken

    I can confirm that I am not seeing the warning here either so it looks like the warning has been lifted for sure. Good to see it got handled so quickly and the site is back online. I know from experience how frightening it is to see your traffic drop and to find that someone has hacked into your website and got it banned from google for similar reasons (ie through some hackers actions)

    Ta

    Baz

  11. #7
    affiliate commando

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    london
    Posts
    2,068
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 145 Times in 115 Posts
    Hi all,

    Just to give you an update, the below was passed to me from the Vitabiotics tech support:

    On Friday google actually blocked our public website Vitamins, minerals & health supplements from Vitabiotics and they put message on google that this website is harmful. As you know there was some virus attacks on our website in july and august so google actually took the data for last 90 days and on the basis of that data google blocked our site . any ways over the weekend I communicated with google and sent review request to them and they have verified our website and it is OK now.

    Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, I'm more than happy to help.

    Kind regards,

    Ken



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Google Checkout £10 promotion - who wins?
    By drivetowin in forum Affiliate Marketing Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-04-07, 09:13 PM
  2. More dashes than morse code
    By Mark Norville in forum Web Hosting & Security
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16-11-03, 05:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
To Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2