Affiliate Marketing
Forum Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19-12-04
renegade's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,220
Thanks: 83
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
renegade seems to know their stuffrenegade seems to know their stuff
  Site Hijack? Something weird is happening!

I've just found this page (which isn't part of CantBarsed.com) which has started sending thousands of referrals to us in the last day or two:

[Remove]http://www.freestuffsiteonly.com/xray.html

via this page on that domain: /9.html

Now that page is a complete rip of our page with their adsense ad at the top of the page: pub-4422321779990549

At the bottom of the xray.html you can join them and it's an affiliate program which I don't like the look of.

The questions on my mind (given we're suffering in the current Google shake-up) are:

1) Have we been Hi-jacked - it seems odd to complain about traffic to our site!

2) Is this going to be seen as duplicate content - I'm guessing yes since it's a rip

Any suggestions as to what should I do now would be greatly appreciated.

All very worrying.
__________________
Joe's CantBarsed Blog | Discount Codes
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19-12-04
renegade's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,220
Thanks: 83
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
renegade seems to know their stuffrenegade seems to know their stuff
On the root of the site there is a contact form and email address so I'd like to send them an email but I'm not sure what to say, at the very least they have stolen my content.

Again any help gratefully appreciated.
__________________
Joe's CantBarsed Blog | Discount Codes
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19-12-04
renegade's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,220
Thanks: 83
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
renegade seems to know their stuffrenegade seems to know their stuff
Sorry about posting to my own thread but on digging deeper:
/8.html is a rip of creditcards.com
/4.htm is a rip of a-shoponline.com
/3.htm is a rip of 100best-credit-cards.com
__________________
Joe's CantBarsed Blog | Discount Codes
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-04
accelerator's Avatar
Online shopping rocks!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 8
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
accelerator is an unknown quantity at this point
  Site Rip Offs

Joe

I had a look at these sites. When I go to them the "Do you want to install Chinese characters" IE pop up comes up. I'm guessing these sites result from people in China signing up for Google AdSense, then copying high ranked sites and adding a Google AdWords banner.

Why don't you try reporting this abuse to Google and see whether they will terminate the AdSense account?

Rgds

accelerator
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27-12-04
renegade's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,220
Thanks: 83
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
renegade seems to know their stuffrenegade seems to know their stuff
The page has changed now so it doesn't directly affect me ATM but I emailed the owners of the other sites so maybe they took action, thanks for your input though and if it happens again I will contact google adsense.

I've also had a couple of mates report they couldn't get onto my domain because another one popped up instead, I'm presuming spyware infections on their machine but it's becoming increasingly annoying.
__________________
Joe's CantBarsed Blog | Discount Codes
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Affiliate Marketing RSS Feeds - Contact Us - Affiliate Marketing - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7